Sri Lanka team announced for ODI series against Afghanistan, return of these players

New Delhi: A three-match ODI series will be played between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan from Friday. With just a day before the first ODI of the series, Sri Lanka finally announced a 15-man squad for the three-match home series against Afghanistan.

Dhananjay Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Ashen Bandara and Lahiru Kumara have returned to the Sri Lankan team. Chamika Karunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Nuwan Thushara, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Jeffrey Vandersay and Lahiru Madushanka could not find a place in the team. Meanwhile, fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera has missed a surgery in Australia due to injury.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa’s break

Bhanuka Rajapaksa has requested to take a break from ODI cricket. Danushka Gunathilaka, who was arrested in Australia on charges of sexual harassment, is also not a part of the team. Karunaratne has been suspended and banned for a year for breaching Sri Lanka’s player contract during the T20 World Cup in Australia. After being dropped from the team in T20Is this year, he has done exceptionally well. He received two Player of the Match awards during the ODIs of the Australia series.

Dhananjay Lakshan comes in place of Karunaratne.

Dhananjay Lakshan has been included in place of Karunaratne. The 24-year-old seam bowling all-rounder has been in good form with the bat in the Sri Lankan first-class recently, having starred with bat and ball on debut during the inaugural edition of the Lankan Premier League in 2020. Another player to watch out for is youngster Dunith Velez.

Who put in some great all-round performances against Australia earlier this year. In-form Kusal Mendis will lead the batting unit, which also includes Pathum Nissanka, Charit Aslanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Ashen Bandara and skipper Dasun Shanaka.

Sri Lanka ODI squad against Afghanistan:

Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya D’Silva, Charit Aslanka, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Vellalej, Dhananjay Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Mahesh Thikshana, Pramod Madushan, Asita Fernando, Ashen Bandara, Lahiru Kumara

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top