Chahal had taken so many wickets, know how is the Eden Park pitch

New Delhi: The first match of the ODI series between India and New Zealand will be held at Eden Park in Auckland on Friday, 25 November. The match will start at 2:30 PM local time and 7 AM IST. India and New Zealand have played white-ball cricket against each other for a long time. Prior to the ODI series, the two countries played a three-match T20I series, in which the Indian team won 1–0. Ahead of the first ODI between India and New Zealand, here are some statistics from the previous ODIs held in Auckland.

The team batting first has the advantage

Teams batting first have won 30 matches at Eden Park. While the teams batting second have won 42 matches. Two matches are tied here. Three matches have been cancelled. The individual score on this ground is recorded in the name of Marcus Stoinis of Australia. Who played an unbeaten inning of 146 against New Zealand in 2017.

Best bowling in the name of Mitchell Starc

On the other hand, Australia’s storm bowler Mitchell Starc has the best bowling figures, who took 6 wickets for 28 runs against New Zealand in 2015. The wicket at this venue helps the batsmen and the fast bowlers. Incidentally, the last ODI match at Eden Park was also played between India and New Zealand. The Kiwi team won that match by 22 runs.

Chahal took three wickets

This is the same ground where the second ODI of the three-match series was played on 8 February during India’s tour of New Zealand in 2020. Half-centuries from Guptill and Ross Taylor put the side at 273 for the loss of 8 wickets in 50 overs. Yuzvendra Chahal proved to be very effective for India, who took 3 wickets for 58 runs in 10 overs. Shardul Thakur took 2 for 60 in 10 overs and Ravindra Jadeja took one wicket.

In reply, India were bowled out for 153 for 7 but brilliant innings from Ravindra Jadeja and Navdeep Saini helped them get close to the target. Eventually India was all out for 251 runs in 48.3 overs. 18 wickets fell in that match, out of which the spin bowlers took four wickets. The batsmen hit a total of 11 sixes in 98.3 overs.

  • Highest Team Score: 340/5 – New Zealand v Australia, 2007
  • Minimum Team Score: 73 – New Zealand v Sri Lanka, 2007
  • Highest run-chase: 340/5 – New Zealand v Australia, 2007
  • Average first innings score: 217

India’s squad for New Zealand ODI:

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar, Umran Malik

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top